Changes

The last time I posted was in February  which seems like a lifetime ago. Life just got away from me and so many things have happened since then. In a nutshell, I graduated from Framingham State University with a Masters in Food and Nutrition, studied for and passed the RD exam (I’m finally a Registered Dietitian!!), did a Tough Mudder in Vermont with some dear friends, worked as a per-diem clinical dietitian in Massachusetts for 4 months while applying for jobs in NYC and Florida, went to 2 weddings, and then the biggest change of all….moved back to NYC for a new job! I’ll be working as a clinical dietitian at a long-term care facility in the Bronx and also building up my own counseling practice (which will be announced in the near future) over the next year or so. So yes, a lot has happened and although I’m very excited to be back in NYC and starting a new job as an RD, I’ve also felt incredibly overwhelmed the last month.

Moving is considered to be one of the most stressful events that individuals experience in their life; in fact, health insurance companies consider it a “life event” which allows you to change or enroll in a new health plan outside of their typical enrollment periods. I can testify to that. Yes – moving is stressful, even more so when you are moving out of state and trying to find a job and an apartment at the same time – and in NYC, the stress factor is multiplied by a 1000 since everything happens with such urgency you barely have time to consider your options before you have to make a decision. Fortunately, I have incredible friends who are essentially like family to me both in NYC and in MA, and they have been a Godsend. From housing and feeding me on my numerous trips down to NYC, to being there for moral and emotional support through this entire process- and I love them dearly. I’m not exaggerating when I say that this transition could not have taken place without their help. Thank you all – you know who you are 🙂

Moving on (no pun intended), in light of all the stress that has surrounded this move (from the movers not being able to fit all my stuff OR deliver it on time…yes, I still have no furniture and will not till Saturday (hopefully) – and I start work tomorrow, to several melt-downs as I was cleaning out my old apartment in Massachusetts, trying to squeeze everything in my car, and realizing that my new neighborhood is such a drastic change from my old neighborhoods  in NYC and MA), I started reflecting on what makes ‘moving’ so stressful.

The more I thought about it, the more I realized that it’s not just one thing that makes it so stressful, but a combination of various factors that compound the anxiety surrounding a move: the change in location, the disruption of your normal schedule, the start of something new (e.g. a job), the need to reevaluate what you want to keep and what to purge, the need to find new amenities at your new location and a new commute, the need to pack, the logistics of changing addresses and informing people of your new location…and the list goes on. Change is always stressful because it involves so many unknowns…What if this doesn’t work out? What if I hate it? What if  I made a mistake? Am I making the right decision? Is this what a want? What if….? And that list goes on…

But change is also exciting and invigorating – and that’s what I have tried to remember through the past month, and especially over the past week. I am starting a new career in a city that is like home to me. I will be in the same city as or close to friends who are like family to me, and I’ll finally be earning some money again after the last few years of grad school! 🙂 The first few months and really the first year will still be a challenge as I get used to a 9 – 5 job and commuting again, and balancing work with exercise, a social life and some ‘me time.’ But I’m looking forward to my new life – near friends and family and a bustling city that I have missed over the past 4 years. I’m back NYC – albeit in a completely different neighborhood and with a different career, but I’m back and looking forward to exploring more of this challenging yet rich, rewarding and culturally diverse city!

What about you? Have any of you made a career change? Or moved out of state many times? What was your experience with moving? Would love to hear your stories!

 

 

Posted on October 1, 2014, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

