Happy New Year – 2013!!

Happy New Year everyone! Here’s to 2013 being a good year for all of you!

I hope you all had a fun and safe New Year’s Eve; mine was very low-key but I quite liked it that way. I wasn’t feeling too great and so after getting off work I stayed home, cooked dinner, watched some TV and then read a book. Was in bed by 11 and out by 11:30pm! Low-key but fine by me. I felt better this morning and started the day with a protein smoothie, egg whites and a pancake, and then after catching up with my mom and some friends, I did my first workout of 2013.

Workout: 6 mile treadmill run (last mile was pretty slow :)), followed by my HIIT workout below. Not a bad start to the New Year! I used a 20 lb weight instead of a Kettlebell (since the little gym at my apartment complex doesn’t have Kettlebells) but it was a great workout nevertheless. My heart rate never gets very high while running, biking or swimming but those burpees get my heart racing! The entire HIIT circuit (5 rounds) takes 10 minutes or less to complete, and it’s a great way to get your heart rate up in a short amount of time.

HIIT Round

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Do you guys have any resolutions for 2013? I don’t like to call them ‘resolutions’ but I do have some goals in mind for 2013. I think it’s always nice to set some goals for the year to stay motivated about achieving things that are important to you. So without further ado here are my goals for 2013:

1. Spend more time connecting with and staying in touch with my friends and family. A lot of my friends live in NYC, and others live in San Francisco, Columbus, OH and North Carolina. My brother lives in NYC and my parents in India and I don’t get to see everyone very often. So in 2013 I aim to do a better job of staying in touch with everyone I love – either via phone, email or facebook, as much as possible.

2. Get back to being a more consistent runner and train smartly to avoid getting injured again – and again! I love running too much to give it up and so this year I’m devoting more time to training smartly; taking rest days as needed, building up mileage more slowly, and not worrying too much about my pace but just being grateful for the ability to run. I’ve also decided to invest in some custom orthotics after a visit to the podiatrist (I know – they’ll cost a fortune), but hopefully they will help me get over my PF and let me run for many more years.

3. Do my first triathlon (which btw is a Half-Iron on my 35th birthday!!) Patriot 70.3 on June 15th in MA. Enough said on this one. I’m nervous, scared and yet incredibly excited; I wanted to ring in my 35th birthday with something big, so why not? I’ve always wanted to do a Half-Ironman and hopefully 2013 will be the year I make it happen!

4. Run a few more half-marathons this year. Just because I want to!

5. Get more sleep! I’m terrible about getting into bed at a reasonable hour so I’m setting this as a goal for myself this year. In bed by 10:30 and hopefully asleep by 11pm.

I made add a few more goals over the year but that’s it for now. WHat are your goals for 2013?

Posted on January 1, 2013, in General. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

