A Car Towing, a Cold and some Culinary Adventures

Sooooo what did this past week entail for me? Well, from the title of the post you can tell that my car was towed  – from the parking lot of my apartment community. Apparently they have a rule that if your registration has expired then they will tow. Fabulous. Well unbeknownst to me, my registration expired a month ago (yikes!) and so on Tuesday when I went down to go run some errands – my car was nowhere to be found. After a moment of panic, a frantic visit to the rental office, a great deal of sobbing, on-line renewal of my registration and a ride from a friend later that night, I got my car back. $139 poorer. BUT…things didn’t end on too bad a note. On Wednesday I talked to my community manager and showed him the lease, which stated that they could tow after appropriate notification to the owner (which I did not receive) – so he called the tow company and now I’m being sent a refund 🙂

Fast forward to Thursday night and Friday – yours truly came down with a hideous head cold and a horrible headache (and I still have it 😦  ) So my much anticipated trip to NYC was cancelled (sigh) – though I will be going down in a couple of weekends for a friend’s wedding! So what did I do instead? Study – for an exam and quiz later this week, and an exam next week. And put on my chefs hat and try some new recipes I found on-line! I tried this Paleo Banana Bread recipe from Running to the Kitchen, though I used half the oil – and used olive vs. coconut, 2 eggs + 2 egg whites, and 2 teaspoons agave (since I didn’t have maple syrup). The verdict? Good! Though I think I should have used a bigger and riper banana to give it a more banana-y flavor. The texture is certainly different from traditional banana breads, and although almond flour has a lot of fat (15g per 1/4 cup), it’s all unsaturated fat (it only has 1g of saturated fat per 1/4 cup). It’s also high in protein and fiber (7g protein and 3g fiber per 1/4 cup). The bread was also very light – not dense at all even though I thought it would be dense from the oil and almond flour, and it doesn’t leave you feeling bloated or heavy at all (unlike some wheat flour based products).

Here’s a picture of how mine turned out (sorry about the yellow tinge – it’s my kitchen light):

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also made spaghetti squash in the oven. Tip for cooking spaghetti squash: Cut it in half and place it cut side down in a large glass pyrex casserole dish with 1/2 inch of water. Cover with foil and bake at 350F for 30-35 minutes. That’s all! Then use a fork to pull out the strands of “spaghetti!” Serve with pasta sauce & parmesan plus whatever protein and veggie sides you desire.

Finally, I made pumpkin pancakes which were just a variation on Monica’s Peanut Flour Protein Pancakes, except that I used pumpkin instead of the cottage cheese (I usually sub in 1/2 banana but left it out this time). Verdict? Good – but not as sweet as my banana version. Still, they are light and high in protein and fiber so they’ll make a good breakfast option on busy mornings (I made a double batch and froze them!)

Apart from that, it’s been studying and more studying – oh, and I bought a snazzy clutch at TJ Maxx 🙂 Hey – if I couldn’t go to NYC this weekend, at least I can hold my clutch and feel like I’m a Miss Fancy-Pants 😉

Hope you all had a great Columbus Day weekend!

Posted on October 8, 2012, in Food, General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

