It’s Coming Together!

Good Evening folks! My exciting Friday night is being spent at home with a cup of decaf tea, my computer and my PJs 🙂 and I’m perfectly happy with that! For a Friday, my day was actually really busy, but in a good way. After my 2 classes this morning I had a lunch break and then a 2 hour meeting to go over the structure of the Coordinated Program in Dietetics, which is what I’m enrolled in at Framingham State. To explain a bit, there are 2 main pathways to becoming a Registered Dietitian (which is what I am currently pursuing); one is to enroll in a school that offers a Didactic program where you complete the coursework that’s required and then do a year (1200 hours) of a supervised internship at an accredited facility (hospital etc). Or, you enroll in a school that offers a Coordinated Program, where you complete the coursework and the supervised practice in tandem. Intense but definitely a great option and probably the shorter route for most students. Framingham State offers the latter program, the CPD, and so todays meeting was to go over the requirements and the structure of the program for the next 4 semesters. This year (Fall 2012 & Spring 2013) will include some of my off-site supervised hours, but it’s Fall 2013 and Spring 2014 when I’ll be doing the bulk of these hours.

My schedule over the next 4 semesters seems somewhat overwhelming in light of having classes, projects, exams and supervised internships – but I’m actually really excite about it all. It feels like after doing prerequisites for the last 1.5 – 2 years, things are finally coming together…and I’m actually embarking on my RD path now! Over the last couple of years, there certainly have been times when I thought “OMG – What am I doing going back to school now. Will it be worth it?” And the answer has always been a resounding YES!!! I can’t express enough how much I love the field I’m in, and how passionate I feel about it. And I am truly fortunate and blessed to be able to make this career change and pursue my goal of becoming an RD. Here’s to looking ahead and a busy but rewarding next couple of years!

G’nite 🙂

Posted on September 7, 2012, in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

