A new Investment and Breakfast Tacos!

Hello All! Happy Sunday to you! I hope everyone is having a fabulous weekend and soaking up the last days of summer. Fall classes start on September 5th for me, and after that my life will be super busy again. My new investment (splurge) is a brand new road bike!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

She’s already been named Maddy (short for Madeleine) and she’s a 2011 Raleigh Capri 2.0. I bought her from Grace Bicycles in Holliston, MA and have already taken her out for a spin. I’ve spent the last few days researching and trying out some road bikes, both at REI and at Grace, and I went to the latter based on the recommendations of some friends at my gym, who are avid cyclists and highly recommended the shop. The guys at Grace, Scott and Roy were absolutely awesome and I wanted to hug them both at the end of yesterday, when I left with my prized possession. They not only answered my billion and one questions, but were extremely patient with me as I hummed and hawed between two bikes, asked the seat to be lowered, handle bars raised etc. Roy even let me borrow a part for the handlebars so that I could get used to road biking and feel comfortable before trying a lower bar height. Once I was convinced I wanted Maddy, they went through a whole video analysis of my current biking form and proper form, correcting my mistakes and just really making me feel more confident and comfortable about road biking. A huge thank you to both of you for doing all that! And I absolutely LOVE my new investment (and the best part are the hot pink handle-bars – don’t you agree 😉 ! I’m taking her out for another ride later this afternoon.

This morning, I worked out at the mini gym downstairs, with a 30 minute warmup on the elliptical, a CrossFit type high intensity workout consisting of 5 rounds of: 12 KB (20lb weight) swings followed by 15 burpees. I was a sweaty mess by the end of it and my heart was racing – but that’s the point of these short, intense workouts. To get your heart rate up in a short amount of time. Then, even though I said I was burnt out from running after the Providence Half last weekend, I tried a slow 3 mile run on teh treadmill, since I was itching to run again. It went well so I may ease back into running again but I’m still not signing up for any races till I have a strong running base again, and am really enjoying it as opposed to feeling stressed out about it.

Post-workout, I made Breakfast Tacos and a protein shake with a new smoothie supplement (review of the supplement will come later). The tacos were delicious and totally hit the spot, and had a healthy balance of protein, carbs, healthy fats and a plethora of vitamins, minerals and antioxidants…and the recipe is posted below! Enjoy the rest of your Sunday – I’m off to look for some new clothes before the start of Fall semester!

 

Breakfast Tacos (serves 1)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

2 corn tortillas

1 egg + 1/4 cup egg whites

2 Tbsp shredded cheese

2 Tbsp black beans

1.5 cups baby spinach, washed

6-7 baby carrots, chopped

1/4 zucchini, chopped

2-3 Tbsp salsa

1/8th avocado

spring mix & dressing of choice

 

Method:

1. Spray a medium skillet with cooking spray and heat on medium heat. Add carrots, spinach, zucchini, beans and saute for 1 minute.

2. Crack egg and add to the skillet, along with the egg whites. Stir/scramble mixture for 1 minute.

3. Add cheese and salsa and stir for another minute till heated through, and yolk has reached desired done-ness ( I like my yolks slightly runny).

4. While egg mixture is cooking, warm the two corn tortillas. Divide the egg and vegetable mixture onto the two tortillas.

5. Season with ground black pepper, avocado and additional salsa if desired. Serve with a spring mix salad and choice of dressing.

 

Posted on August 26, 2012, in Exercise, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

