A Baking Experiment

Most of my friends know that I’m not a baker – not when it comes to baking things from scratch. In the past, I’ve always used box mixes for things like cakes and muffins, and just “doctored” them up with added fruit or replacing some of the fat with mashed banana or pumpkin etc. I also don’t have a sweet tooth; a small bit of dark chocolate, Almond Milk ice-cream or a spoon of almond butter will usually satisfy me after a meal. But I’ve always liked the thought of baking from scratch, and so a couple of days ago, I decided to try out a recipe for Gluten-Free (Paleo) Carrot Muffins from this website. I halved the recipe since I didn’t want a large batch, and I actually used two small loaf pans rather than muffin tins since I wanted to be able to cut slices off the bread. I also used 1 egg and 3 Tablespoons of egg white (rather than using 1/2 an egg) since I halved the recipe, and omitted the pecans since I didn’t have any. The reason I was drawn to the recipe was the fact that (1) It reminded me of carrot cake – which I like and haven’t had in a VERY long time, (2) It’s a gluten free recipe that doesn’t have a long list of ingredients (of starches and fillers etc), (3) I had all the ingredients and it was easy to throw together, and (4) I’ve been dying to try a recipe with Almond Flour since I’ve heard so much about it on various blogs 🙂

I sliced each mini loaf into 4 pieces, and one for an afternoon snack yesterday and another with breakfast this morning. The verdict? Really good! I think my use of egg whites made the loaf a little “eggier” than it was  supposed to be, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that the loaves were very moist and light! Not at all dense or heavy, which is what I had imagined they would be due to the almond flour. The bread/muffins also pack in more protein than your average muffin due to the use of almond flour and eggs. I think that I’ll definitely be making these again at some point, and maybe trying them with pumpkin instead of carrots. Anyway, let me know if you try it (my version or the original), and what you think of it. I’d also love to know what other things people have made with almond flour.

Here’s a picture of how my version turned out:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Have a great Wednesday!

Posted on July 11, 2012, in Food. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

