Try Something New

Good Morning Folks!

Hope everyone had a great weekend and survived the heat! Today seems a bit better so after I’m done with this (quick!) post, I’m planning on getting outside for a run (hopefully 6 miles but we’ll see….). Tonight is also my first CrossFit OnRamp session at CrossFit Newton. I bought a Groupon to try out CrossFit a few months ago and I’m finally going to give it a shot (I’ll let you know how it goes). I have to admit that I’m nervous as hell about trying CrossFit, and I’m not quite sure why. I’ve heard so many great things about it – how it’s helped people get stronger, improve in their strength and endurance and correct muscle imbalances, and that’s why I’m also intrigued to give it a go. I feel that over the last couple of years, I’ve been plagued with all kinds of injuries from running and I’m wondering if it’s due to muscle weaknesses and imbalances. Things that I hope to be able to address and correct through CrossFit. But a\I’m also nervous about the types of exercises involved (deadlifts, power cleans, thrusters, burpees – hate them!) I’ve never considered myself to be a “weight lifter” so the thought of me doing a power clean seems so alien to me. But it’s also probably time that I tried something new and stepped outside of my comfort zone – hence the title of this post.

Yesterday – as I was lazing around, I thought about how it was July already….June is over!! Just like that….And it made me think about how quickly the summer just seems to fly by. Sometimes I wish I could hold onto time – especially during the summer! But it also makes me think of how I don’t want to waste any time – and regret “wasting” a summer by not doing or trying anything new…So I’m going to try doing something new/challenging to me every week or two. Just to step outside of my comfort zone and try something different…whether it’s a new activity, meeting a new group of people, trying a new food/cuisine or restaurant. Or even trying a new recipe at home.

This week…it’ll be CrossFit (I’ll let you know if and how I survive!) Does anyone else have any summer plans of trying anything new?

Posted on July 2, 2012, in General. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

