Quick and Easy Chickpea Curry (Channa Masala)

My ability to cook Indian food is quite pitiful. In fact, I only eat Indian food when I’m either (i) eating out in NYC with friends who want to go to an Indian restaurant, or (ii) visiting my folks in India. I don’t cook it at home because I always feel that it takes too long and requires too many ingredients (not quite true as you’ll see later), and I don’t order out in Boston because I limit “eating out” for special occasions. Well tonight, I proved myself wrong about the “takes too long and requires too many ingredients” excuse by making a Quick and Easy Chickpea Curry (aka Channa Masala).  The inspiration to make this dish came from my recent trip to India, where my mom made the real deal several times while I was there. Anyway, my attempt is probably not quite the authentic version – but it comes quite close , and best of all it took less than 20 minutes to throw together! So here’s another quick lunch/dinner option – just serve it with some rice, bread or a salad and you have yourself a healthy, filling and nutritious meal.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Quick and Easy Chickpea Curry (Channa Masala)
(2 large or 4 small servings)

Ingredients:

1   14-15 oz can of chickpeas (drained & rinsed)

1 small red potato, washed and cubed

1/2 small onion, chopped

1/2 tsp garlic minced garlic (garlic paste)

1 tomato, chopped

1 Tbs tomato paste

1/2 Tbs Canola, Safflower or Grapeseed oil

1/2 tsp each cumin

1/2 tsp curry powder

1/4 tsp chili powder (add more for a spicier version!)

1/4 -1/2 tsp ginger powder

2- 3 Tbsp water (may need a splash more if mixture starts to dry out)

Salt and pepper to taste

 

Method:

1. Heat the oil in a medium saucepan on medium heat. Add the onions and stir fry till translucent ( 1-2 minutes). Add garlic paste and stir

2. Microwave the cubed potato for 2 minutes (until soft but not mushy).  Add chickpeas, potatoes and tomatoes to the onions and stir to mix everything thoroughly.

3. Add all the spices, tomato paste, salt and pepper and cook for 5 minutes. Add water (use more if needed) to prevent the mixture from drying out.

4. Turn heat to low and let simmer for 5 minutes.

5. Serve with rice, bread or a salad.

Posted on June 17, 2012, in Food. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Very nice … I love spicy chickpeas!

  2. This sounds delicious. I am a big fan of chick peas (some are soaking for hummus right now in fact). I love the idea of serving it over green salad for a more summery twist. I always think of curries as warming winter food. I’m adding this to my “Recipes Worth Trying” board.

    BTW – Thanks for linking up to Eat Make Grow. This weeks blog hop just went up this morning:

    http://foyupdate.blogspot.com/2012/08/eat-make-grow-thursday-blog-hop-3.html

  3. Thanks Foy!! I need to make this again too – soon. It’s so easy and is such a versatile meal option. You can have it on a salad, as a side dish, with rice or with a tortilla. I’m going to check out the other recipes on the Blog Hop!

  1. Pingback: Two steps forward, one step back « Coffee Beans and Greens

  2. Pingback: Two steps forward, one step back « Coffee Beans and Greens

Leave a Reply

