Homemade Black Bean Burger for One

Good Morning!

For some reason, I’m up ridiculously early again – maybe it’s because I slept well from being out in the fresh air yesterday, when Folly and I went kayaking. Anyway, last night when we got home, I was starving and wanted to through together a quick, healthy meal that had a Mexican theme to it (was craving salsa!). In the past, I would have just nuked a veggie burger and dumped some avocado and salsa on it, but I’ve been trying to eat less processed food lately and limiting my consumption of pre-packaged veggie burgers has been one strategy. I debated grilling some tofu or tempeh (and even pulled some out of my fridge), but since I had tempeh the night before I wanted to do something different, and not rely too heavily on soy products for my protein (There is a great deal of debate surrounding soy – more on this in another post. Over the last year I feel that I’ve relied very heavily on soy for the bulk of my protein and as with anything, I think that relying too heavily on a particular food/food group doesn’t promote a balanced diet and can contribute to developing complications, imbalances and possibly an intolerance at a later stage. So that’s why I’m cutting back on soy a little bit and adding other forms of protein into my diet). Final solution was a homemade black bean burger that was far tastier (albeit mushier) and less processed than any packaged version. It was also incredibly easy to put together. I crumbled it up and added it to two tacos, along with some avocado, a vat of salsa, salad, grilled broccoli and red peppers and almond cheese. Very satisfying and very filling!

Homemade Black Bean Burger for One (adapted from Kath’s recipe)

Ingredients:

1/3 cup black beans

1/2 carrot, chopped

2-3 mushrooms, chopped

1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1 Tbsp peanut flour (or whole wheat flour/oat flour)

1/4 tsp cumin (or to taste)

1 tsp sunflower butter (or Tahini) (Optional)

A few glugs of hot sauce

Salt and pepper to taste

 

Method:

1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mash together (can use a food processor but be careful not to turn it into a paste!)

2. Form into a giant patty and refrigerate for 5 minutes (if you can wait that long)

3. Coat it with egg white and breadcrumbs for a crispier coating (I didn’t last night)

4. Pan fry in a skillet with cooking spray

5. Serve in tacos, a salad or on a bun with your choice of fixings!

Posted on June 17, 2012, in Food. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

