Mom Was Right

So you know what mom always said about “Breakfast being the most important meal of the day?” Well she was right…Every time I skimp on breakfast I find myself feeling hungry all day. Now don’t get me wrong – I NEVER skip breakfast 🙂 I’m just talking about having a “lighter-than-usual” morning meal due to a time crunch. As was the case this morning. Exam. Traffic. Need to leave ASAP. Starving. Small bowl of granola with soy milk and half a banana with the obligatory peanut butter. Coffee. Go.

It wasn’t enough… Post-exam, my stomach was growling again by 10am. And there was more studying to be done.. All said and done, I had some healthy snacks in between my meals and made it through the day, but it did make me think of the importance of having a good breakfast to start off the day. And by “good,” I mean nutritious and substantial, with a balance of healthy, complex carbohydrates, some protein and some healthy fats to provide satiety and slow digestion so that you remain full for a few hours.

The last couple of days, I’ve been having oatmeal with some peanut butter, chia seeds, banana and some nuts, along with some soy milk, and that usually keeps me full till lunchtime. In the past, I found that when I ate just ‘plain’ oatmeal, it still left me feeling hungry and unsatisfied, but when I started to add some more ‘heft’ to it, it became a much more satisfying and substantial meal. And by heft I mean some protein, fruit, and healthy fats (think nuts, chia and/or flax seeds, and some nut butter). These additions not only provide some healthy calories and substance to your morning meal, but they also add flavor and variety to your bowl of oats! After all, who wants to eat a bland, boring bowl of oatmeal? A large part of why we like certain foods is that they taste good, and taste and flavor are just as important at breakfast as in any other meal of the day.

If you’re not typically a fan of breakfast, maybe take a look at what you’ve been eating…Is it tasty or is it bland and boring? Adding a little spice and flavor to your morning meal might just be the key to getting started on a healthy daily breakfast routine!

WIth that said, here’s a simple recipe for the oatmeal I had a couple of days ago:

Banana Oats with Chia Seeds and Blackberries

Ingredients:

1/3 – 1/2 cup rolled oats
1/3 – 1/2 cup soy or almond milk
1/3 -1/2 cup water (plus more if you desire a thinner consistency)
1/2 medium banana, thinly sliced
1 – 2 teaspoons chia seeds
Dash of cinnamon
Toppings: blackberries, cranberries, 2 teaspoons of peanut or almond butter, 2 Tbsp of granola (optional)

Method:
1. Combine oats, milk, water, banana and cinnamon in a small saucepan. Heat over a medium flame till mixture starts to bubble, then reduce heat to low. Stir constantly to mix the banana into the oats.
2. Add chia seeds and continue stirring till oats are of desired consistency.
3. Remove from heat and pour into a bowl. Add toppings and enjoy!

201112212314.jpg

Posted on December 21, 2011, in Food, General. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

