Simple, Spicy Dinner

Hi everyone! So in my last post I highlighted three great cookbooks for ya’ll to try out, and it really motivated me to try one of the recipes that I’ve been meaning to make for a while now. Mama Pea’s Spicy African Peanut Stew from her book Peas and Thank You. I don’t have a slow cooker so I just used a large pot and made it on the stove – and it was awesome! So easy and so delicious! And all the ingredients were plant based! The stew is a great meal in itself, providing protein, complex carbohydrates, healthy fats and vitamins and minerals all in one dish. Protein, complex carbohydrates, iron and B vitamins from the chickpeas and lentils, complex carbohydrates, vitamin A and beta-carotene from the sweet potato, and healthy fats from the peanut butter and the coconut milk (more on the fats in coconut milk in a later post!). Plus, the spices in the dish are a great source of antioxidants.

I added a base of baby spinach to my bowl of the stew, and here’s a picture of it below.

201112171100.jpg

The recipe is on her website so certainly give it a try – and I promise you that you won’t miss any meat!

Posted on December 17, 2011, in Food, Nutrition Tips. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

