Another go at this blog

It’s been almost a year since a last posted anything on this blog, and even this post has been a long time coming. I’ve been meaning to post/ thinking about it/ planning it/ even updating the blog theme and header – but never actually writing anything and hitting publish. It’s like that long-lost friend from high school whom you keep meaning to call or write, but you never get around to it. And the longer you wait, the harder it gets. That;s how I feel right now. But I figured that it’s better late than never.

So, there’s a lot of catch up information I need to post, and then define a new direction for Coffee Beans and Greens. Part of the reason I may have stopped posting is that I never really had a clear direction to the blog, but I feel that’s changed (or in the process of changing!)

My life has changed so much over the course of this year that I don’t know where to begin…. I left off in February with a post on studying, and things on that end are still the same. So in a nutshell, here is a quick summary of what’s happened this year – and details of some things will follow in a later post.

1. I’m still studying for a Masters in Food and Nutrition at Framingham State University. However, I have shortened my program so that I (hopefully!) graduate in May 2013 with my MS degree, and then do my internship to prep for the RD exam somewhere else (hopefully in NYC!!)

2. I do plan on moving back to NYC after getting my Master’s. I’ve been back to NYC a few times this year and I miss it dearly. The life, the energy, the people, and above all my brother and my friends. I’m hoping to spend the Summer 2012 in NYC and then come back up to Framingham to finish school.

3. I ran 3 half-marathons and 1 half-marathon relay race (with my friend Jillian) in this year! That’s a huge comeback from last year when I was told that I might have a torn cartilage in my left hip and would need surgery. My hip still gets sore from time to time (my PT in Boston explained that it’s tendonitis that gets aggravated), and I still have issues with plantar fasciitis in my right foot, but taping my arch and wearing arch supports has helped tremendously…as has the Strassburg Sock. I’m so thankful and grateful to be able to run again and compete in races – though I have learned to take it easier and not push my body beyond what it’s capable of doing. I’m older (and slower!) and I try to keep that in mind when I run now…but I’m still thrilled to be back in the game!

The half marathons this year included:

– Rock n Roll 1/2 in Providence, RI (August 9th)

– Smuttynose Half-Marathon in Hampton, New Hampshire,

– the Green-Stride half-marathon relay in Newburyport, MA on Oct 23rd (which I did with my friend Jillian),

– and the One Lucky Guy half in Newburyport, MA on Nov 6th

4. I had a great summer. Went to York Beach, Maine 3 times, and rented a beach house for a week there. Went to a friend’s lakehouse in Western Massachusetts several times, and the Miami Florida for our wedding annniversary.

5. Went to Las Vegas for a friend’s wedding in November. The wedding was really nice. Vegas is overrated.

6. I transitioned to being vegetarian in early February and have not looked back since (more on this in another post). SInce then, and especially more recently, I have revised my earlier doubts about being able to sustain a vegetarian diet, and I take back my earlier statement that vegetarian diets are not for everyone. I think that everyone CAN maintain a truly healthy vegetarian diet and I whole-heartedly support a whole-foods plant-based diet now. As I said, I’ll explain my position in another post, but I did want to include an introduction here.

7. Earlier this year (Feb/March?) I also transitioned to a gluten-free diet on the recommendation of my doctor (due to severe anemia, fatigue and other mineral imbalances). Since making the transition, I have felt a million times better – no fatigue, or anemia and I have so much more energy now than I did before! Apparently I must have been intolerant of wheat and gluten, and my system is so much better without them.

8. I plan on continuing to update Coffee Beans and Greens in a regular manner now. It will be taking on a new direction, as I learn more about my specific strengths and areas of interest in Nutrition. I hope to post more on healthy plant-based, wholesome foods and meals that people can incorporate into their diets, and explain the benefits of these meals and dishes. I will still include some fun, random posts from time-to-time, but I hope to explain more about my transition to vegetarian eating and why I think that it can be beneficial to us all.

9. I’m taking a photography workshop early next years so I do plan on having better photographs for ya’ll!

10. I hope that you continue reading and posting comments and suggestions!

With that, I’ll end for tonight. No pictures today, but I will be back soon with more posts – and do my best to keep this blog updated more regularly than my past experience has shown πŸ™‚

Posted on December 11, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Welcome back, love it.

  2. Thanks Gabby! And thank you for reading πŸ™‚ I’ll try to keep up with it this time!

Leave a Reply

