Time to Read

Typically, M and I watch TV after dinner and then trek off to bed, after taking pup for her last walk of the evening around 11pm. However, it’s not always easy to fall asleep right after being glued to the boob tube for a couple of hours…and I also feel like we get “sucked into” watching whatever is on TV at the moment, as opposed to REALLY wanting to watch a show. (That being said, I do have a few favorites I like to watch, like The Good Wife, Grey’s Anatomy, Private Practice and Blue Bloods. Plus any episode of Law & Order: Special Victim’s Unit 🙂 )

But now that we finally (!)have DVR service, we’ve decided that we’re going to try turning off the TV around 10pm, and reading for a while before bed. I’ve always found that reading before bed is such a therapeutic and relaxing activity. It absorbs you completely, and removes any lingering thoughts of work, school, chores, worries etc, and any stresses of the day. So I don’t honestly know why I’ve stopped reading before bed… but it’s something that I’m aiming to pick up again.

Of course reading a gripping thriller before bed may not be such a good idea, but generally, a relaxing, light-hearted novel or anything that’s not going to raise your adrenaline levels before hitting the sack, may be a much needed bedtime ritual for many of us. For the last few months, I’ve been sporadically making my way through “A Confederacy of Dunces, by John Kennedy Toole.”

dunces

This book isn’t exactly a light-hearted read – but it’s comically satirical, and a really interesting commentary on life. Toole writes with an oddly appealing sarcasm, and even though the main character is not exactly an endearing individual, one cannot help but develop an odd liking for him.

Next on my reading list is the infamously popular “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo,” by Stieg Larsson. Everyone seemed to have been reading it on the subways of NYC when I was there, and I have a heard so many things about this book that I have to give it a try.

tattoo

Actually, I also have to finish “A Thousand Splendid Suns,” by Khalid Hosseini….I may have to do that before starting The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I started A Thousand Splendid Suns early last year, but I had to stop reading it halfway through because it was just so heart-wrenching and kept making me want to cry. As I mentioned in a previous post, I wasn’t exactly in the happiest frame of mind in early 2010, and so reading anything emotional or sad would just add to my depressed state 😦 Anyway, now that I’m in a MUCH better state :), I certainly aim to pick up and finish this book…and it actually IS a great read…Looking forward to finally finishing it!

suns 

I also want to get back to reading some classics. I used to love reading Jane Austen, works by the Bronte sisters, Russian novels (my all time favorite is Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy!) and other classics by Thomas Hardy etc. But again, I seemed to have lost this habit over the last few years. So another novel I have on my bookshelf and aim to pick up soon is “Mrs.. Dalloway,” by Virginia Woolf. And I’m ashamed to say that this will be my FIRST Virginia Woolf novel . . . haven’t ever read anything by her even though she’s such an important literary figure 😦

dalloway 

And since I’m going into Nutrition as my new career direction, my literary experience would no be complete without reading the work of Michael Pollan. So at some point I will also be reading “The Omnivore’s Dilemma,” by Pollan . . .  I’ve heard many good things about it so I’m looking forward to picking up that one 🙂

omnivore

Happy Reading!! 🙂

Posted on January 9, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Farah – This was such an enjoyable post, it made me want to pull out my books and read. I miss talking to you! keep the blogs coming.

Leave a Reply

