Downtime…

It feels as if it’s been forever since I last posted on Coffee Beans and Greens…and it actually has been about a week. M and I have been a bit busy since I last posted. We went up to Maine briefly last Sunday, and then did a quick day trip to NYC on Tuesday for M’s work. That was a long day of driving…NYC traffic leaving the city is not my favorite thing during rush hour. But the short trip to Maine on Sunday was different…true, it was for M’s work, but the atmosphere, the scenery and the lack of city traffic, noise, pollution etc, just made it seem so much more fun…more relaxing and enjoyable.

Looking back on it, I didn’t really do that much on the Sunday….just went up to Maine, caught up on some reading, and took long walks with M, and pup. And it was nice. Really nice. Just to have a quiet day of relaxation. Of not having to rush around and catch up on work, laundry, chores, emails….

It’s been a long time since I’ve taken a “day off” from working, exercising, doing household chores, and staring at the computer screen for some reason or another. Living in the city, I don’t think I ever took a similar “day off’;” it just didn’t feel “right.” I always felt this need to be constantly doing something – working, moving, exercising, cooking….And it was exhausting. I think at some point our bodies get tired of that type of constant go-go-go, and we end up tired, stressed out, and prone to sickness. Sometimes, it’s just nice to take a day off…for relaxation and just being. Just enjoying the scenery, and the company of friends and family. I don’t think I really had that balance in my life earlier; maybe it was the energy and adrenaline in the city that just created this need to constantly move and be productive. But I’ve realized that a balance of work, play and rest is key to a sane and healthy lifestyle. And I think that some of us…maybe many of us, especially those who live in the city, don’t always factor in the “rest” part of the equation. I don’t think I ever realized how rejuvenating “rest” really is….never quite appreciated it so much. But this past week, I’ve come to better appreciate the importance of rest and relaxation, and realize that taking a day off every week or two weeks isn’t being unproductive at all. It’s a key part of maintaining a balanced and healthy lifestyle.

True…the scenery in Maine certainly helped 🙂 But I think it’s important for all of us to take time off regularly. It doesn’t need to be a long, planned out vacation (though those are great when you have vacation time!), but just a quieter day over the weekend. When you don’t do chores, or look at the computer all day….but just do something for yourself that you really enjoy.

After all, the laundry, chores, and shopping can wait for one more day….but time doesn’t wait – and taking some downtime for yourself is just as important, if not more so, than “catching up” on the rest of life.

york beach2 

flowers3 flower tub

Flowers1

Posted on November 5, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

