Balanced Boozing….

So my well-meaning attempt to maintain a balanced approach to life – in all manner of things, from work, play, food, exercise, etc, inevitable has an”off” day once in a while. Or in this case, I should say an “off” evening. Yes…I drank too much wine last night. Actually, I should rephrase that to say that I drank too much wine for me last night, Because in reality the term “too much” is very subjective. “Too much” wine for me is really anything more than a couple of glasses…anymore than that and I feel hung-over, sluggish and just dragging the day after. It also depends on how much I have eaten (or not eaten) before or while drinking. (Food delays the absorption of alcohol and so it mitigates some of the after-effects.)

But what always strikes me is that even though I know the after-effects of having a little too much wine, I will inevitably repeat the experience in a couple of weeks. It’s not that I’m a glutton for punishment; I think it’s just because the social settings in which I end up having a few too many drinks always involve good times with good friends and family…and it is their company that I really enjoy the most. The alcohol is probably just a part of the social enjoyment in this case…and yet it is so easy to overdo too. Striking a balance between having a good time with my family and friends, and not over-doing the alcohol in the process, is a bit of a challenge … 🙂 But that being said, I don’t think I’m in any danger of becoming a chronic alcoholic either! Like I said earlier….”too much” for me is really more than 2 glasses of wine…and 2 glasses is probably nothing to a lot of people.

It would also be easy to suggest not drinking at all, and that alcohol should not be a necessity for enjoying oneself in a social setting. True – it’s not a necessity. But I do like a good glass of wine…sometimes even two 🙂 Maybe I could/should just have 1 glass instead of 2 next time….but then again, I may still have two if I really feel like it and if I’m out having a good time with my friends and family….

Maybe the “balanced approach” in this case is to accept that I do like to go out and have a good glass of wine with my friends and family – but to not drink too much for my own good too many nights/weeks in a row. Because let’s face it…life is too short to be overly restrictive all the time. Sometimes…a lot of the time, it’s worth it to indulge yourself and enjoy good company, good food and good wine. The memories of those good times will stay with you forever, the hangover will not. After all, there’s always Advil for the next day 🙂

wine1

Posted on October 23, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

