Putting things in Perspective…and Peanut Butter

Good evening folks – Hope ya’ll had a good start to the week. Mine was so-so but I’m ending it with a more upbeat attitude than when I woke up this morning so that’s a good thing! Explanation….My lovely left ankle is sore again from yesterday’s idiotic run in the heat and humidity, at noon, in new “transition”/natural running shoes….Yes, you’d think I’d have learned my lesson after straining my ankle in minimalist shoes last time, especially when I am a severe over-pronator, but no. I’m a glutton for punishment and it was certainly handed out to me. Yesterday’s run was only 6.5 miles but with the heat and humidity it felt awful, My form suffered and consequently my ankle took another beating :( Anyway, I woke up feeling pretty bummed out this morning but a couple of things over the course of the day helped me put things in perspective.

1. I read several different blogs and one of them in particular, Run Eat Repeat by Monica, had a very poignant and relevant post this morning about Desiree Davila’s withdrawal from the Olympic Marathon this year due to an injury. Davila had to withdraw at mile 2.2 but she still managed to keep such a positive attitude about it all, saying that she was going to treat this as a learning experience and not mope about it. That really hit home for me. If Davila can be positive about withdrawing from an Olympic marathon, then I can certainly maintain a more positive and sane attitude about my upcoming race in light of my ankle and my struggles with running injuries this year. After reading Monica’s post, I realized that it’s not a big deal if I can’t finish the race and have to withdraw. I’ll certainly go and give it a try but I won’t push myself and if my ankle hurts then I’ll stop. It’s not worth getting a more serious injury. So thank you again to Monica for the post :)

As athletes/active individuals who integrate exercise into their daily routine, any kind of injury seems like such a major disaster, and it’s often difficult to keep things in perspective. But it’s important to remember that things could be worse and that injuries can heal. It’s not the end of the world and instead of being depressed about an injury, why not take some time off to figure out what went wrong and work on strengthening key muscles, and also try other activities and sports. You may find that you enjoy another activity even more than your go-to sport (I’ve found that I love swimming so much more than running now!)

2. Mid-morning I also caught with several friends whom I haven’t spoken to or seen in a while and it felt great to talk to them. Definitely put me in a much better mood :) .  Just spending some time talking to friends and family, people you care about, can be so uplifting and an important reminder that there are others who care about you and enjoy your company regardless of any injuries or other drama that’s going on in your life! In catching up with two of my friends today, we also managed to schedule a beach day for this Wednesday! How could I possibly remain bummed out when I have a mid-week beach day coming up???!! :)

3. I found a new peanut butter I like :) OK – so this didn’t really put anything “in perspective” but it just tastes good. And it was on sale at Whole Foods. And I had a coupon. Earth Balance Crunchy Peanut Butter with Flax-seeds. Yum.

So that’s all for tonight folks – just some random reflections. And sorry – no socca update…it’s still sitting in my fridge but I will try it soon!

G’nite

Posted on August 7, 2012, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for linking to our first Eat Make Grow Blog Hop!

    Did you see we’ve added Miranda as a host? We are just having a little SCAD reunion party over there.

    We are already on to Blog Hop #2. I hope you’ll come and link to that one as well. Feel free to link to any older posts if you think they are timely and pertinent.

    - Foy
    http://foyupdate.blogspot.com/2012/08/eat-make-grow-thursday-blog-hop-2.html

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

